Skip to content

Board meeting is July 7

The Fort Plain Central School District Board of Education will hold its annual reorganizational and regular meeting on Tuesday, July 7 at 6 p.m. in the Harry Hoag Elementary School. The meeting will be held in-person and is open to the public. Social distancing guidelines and safety precautions will be adhered to, including the wearing of masks. 

Fort Plain valedictorian to be featured on WNYT special

high school student poses outside for a portrait
Fort Plain Valedictorian Michaela Stockwell

Fort Plain Jr./Sr. High School Valedictorian Michaela Stockwell will be featured on WNYT NewsChannel 13’s valedictorian special, The Class of 2020 Speaks.

Stockwell’s speech will be included in a full two-hour special that will air Sunday, June 28 from 1-3 p.m. on My4/WNYA. WNYT anchor Jerry Gretzinger says snippets of a few of the speeches will run during a few newscasts on NewsChannel 13 this Friday, and it is anticipated the entire program will be shared online after it airs in its entirety.

“The inspiration and encouragement provided by the students’ remarks are incredibly valuable right now, given what our country has been going through this year,” Gretzinger said in his announcement. “They are providing an awesome service to all who will watch and undoubtedly benefit from their messages of positivity and hope for the future.”

125th Commencement Virtual Ceremony

Congratulations to the Class of 2020!

Sign-up for fall sports

The Athletics Department is accepting sign-ups for fall sports. Please sign-up using the following Google Form:

Fall Sports Sign-up Form

Sign-ups are for students who are currently in grades 6-11 for the 2019-20 school year. The deadline will be Friday, July 3. After that date, students can still sign-up with the coach. 

Voters approve budget; re-elect incumbent board members

Fort Plain Central School District residents approved a $21,375,000 budget by a vote of 241-46. The vote was conducted by absentee ballot only because of the COVID-19 public health crisis. Votes were tallied on June 16.

“We appreciate the support from our community to achieve a successful budget,” Superintendent John Bishop said. “Our students will benefit from this budget that preserves existing programs and student supports and is aligned to our district goal of preparing students for success beyond graduation.”

The budget reflects a 2.03% spending increase and a 1.81% tax levy increase. The calculated “tax levy cap” for FPCS is 3.4%. The tax levy cap law only applies to the tax levy (the amount of taxes collected by the district), not to tax rates or individual tax bills.

Voters also re-elected three incumbent board candidates and approved a bus proposition.

Jeffrey Jones received 260 votes, David Przestrzelski received 253 votes and Todd McFee received 250 votes. Their three-year terms begin July 1.

The district also received write-ins for Craig Phillips (6), Val Waner (1), David Briggs (1), Alfonso Pinyero (1) and Stephen Heiser (1).

Voters approved the school bus referendum by a vote of 235-52. The approved referendum allows the district to purchase buses at a cost not to exceed $338,000 total. The referendum does not have an impact on the tax levy. It allows the district to replace aging buses and minimize maintenance costs.

Summer meal program starts July 1

The program will run on weekdays from July 1-August 14 except July 3.

The summer meal program will run on weekdays from July 1-August 14. Breakfast and lunch will be available for pick-up only from 10-11 a.m. Pick-up will be held at the bus in the Reformed Church parking lot, 165 Canal St. Meals are free and for all kids ages 18 and younger.

NOTE: Meals WILL NOT be served on July 3, but double meals will be given on July 2. 

CCMoves Mass Food Distribution will be on Tues., July 7 at Our Lady of Hope church in Fort Plain beginning at 9:30 a.m. Anyone is eligible. It will be done safely as a drive-through with pre-packaged supplies. 

6/12 UPDATE on graduation plans

The Fort Plain Central School District is pleased to announce its finalized plans for the Class of 2020 graduation ceremony. These plans were made based on the overwhelming feedback of our graduates, and we are honored to uphold their wishes.

We are thrilled about these plans and eagerly await the opportunity to recognize our graduates and all that they have achieved in the past 13 years.

If you have any questions, please contact advisors Linda Cole or Will Ryan

Personal graduation ceremonies for each graduate

The district will hold a personal graduation ceremony for each graduate on Saturday, June 20 at the Jr./Sr. High School. Each family has been mailed information about their date and time. Graduates will wear their caps and gowns and will be presented with their diplomas and any awards. Each graduate can bring up to six family members with them.

Yearbooks will be distributed at this time. Yearbooks are $33. Please make checks made payable to Fort Plain Yearbook.

Video Celebration at the El Rancho Drive-In

We are excited to premiere a video tribute on Sunday, June 21 at El-Rancho Drive In. Gates will open at 8:15 pm. The show will begin at sunset at approximately 9:10 p.m., and will last about 1 hour.

Two vehicles will be allowed entry per graduate. Students will receive tickets; vehicles without tickets will not be allowed to enter. Families that wish to park together must arrive together, and parking will be assigned upon entry.

Because this is a school event, state and local mandates must be followed as they relate to social distancing and assembling of large groups. Everyone must stay in their vehicles for the entirety of the event.

Video tribute to the Top 10 graduates of the Class of 2020

The Top 10 students are recognized by their most influential teachers.

Tribute to 6th grade

The Harry Hoag Elementary School is proud to present a virtual tribute to our sixth graders. The Google Slides presentation includes messages from staff, memories from the students and lots of photographs to remember them by. Staff members were expected to deliver gift bags to each sixth grader on June 10.

Post navigation